NTA UGC NET Syllabus of Comparative Study of Religions, Code No: 62

NTA UGC NET Syllabus in Comparative Study of Religions:Comparative religion is the branch of the study of religions concerned with the systematic comparison of the doctrines and practices of the world's religions. In general the comparative study of religion yields a deeper understanding of the fundamental philosophical concerns of religion such as ethics, metaphysics and the nature and form of salvation. Studying such material is meant to give one a richer and more sophisticated understanding of human beliefs and practices regarding the sacred, numinous, spiritual and divine. In the field of comparative religion, the main world religions are generally classified as Abrahamic (aka Western Asian or Western), Dharmic (aka Indian) or Taoic (aka East Asian or Far Eastern).


Paper II & Paper III (Part A & Part B)

Unit I: Nature and Scope of Religion
Concept of Religion.
Significance of and Approaches to the Study of Religions (Historical, Anthropological, Sociological, Philosophical, Phenomenological so on).
Founders and Propounders of Religions.
Major Scriptures (Veda – s, Jaina Agama – s,Tripitake, Bible, Quran, Guru Granth Saheb, Avesta etc).
Individual and Social Aspects of Religion.
Harmony of Religions and Interfaith Dialogue.
Modern Challenges to Religions (Materialism, Rationalism, Agnosticism, Atheism and so on).
Some basic concepts common to most of the Tribal Religions :
Unified concept encompassing the whole universe and all grades of existence.
The ideas behind in various primitive societies : Manaism, Totemism, Tabooism, Animism, Magic, etc.
Manifestations of Tribal Religions in individual and social life of Adivasi People.
Unit II: Major Religions: Common Aspects and Themes
Concept of Universe and Ultimate Reality.
Theories of Karma, Retribution and Salvation.
Codes of Ethical Conduct ( Monks and Laity ).
Compassion, Non – violence, Peace and Harmony.
Social Justice and Human Rights.
Prayer, Meditation and Mysticism.
Attitude towards Women.
Heritage and Culture.
Worship and Rituals.
Religion and Science in Dialogue.
Unit III: Hinduism
Nature of Vedic Religion and Culture.
Vedic Literature – Samhita – s, Brahmana – s, Aranyak – s, Upanisad – s
Saivism, Vaisnavism, Shaktism, Tantraism, etc.
Six Systems of Hindu Philosophy – Sankhya, Yoga, Nyaya, Vaisesika, Mimamsa and Vedanta.
Epics ( Ramayana, Mahabharata ) and Purana – s.
Bhakti and Reform Movements of the Medieval Period.
Modern Reform Movements (Brahmosamaja, Aryasamaja, Ramakrishna Mission, etc ).
Unit IV: Jainism
Sramana Culture and Tirthankara Tradition (Rsabhadeva to Mahavira).
Main Sects of Jainism – Digambara and Svetambara.
Prakrit Agama Literature and Prominent Acaryas.
Basic Doctrines, Principles and Philosophy.
Contribution to Arts and Architecture.
Social Aspects of Jainism.
Contemporary Developments of Jainism.

Unit V: Buddhism
Background, Life and Teachings of Gautama Buddha.
Pali Tipitaka Literature and Mahayana Surtra – s.
Main Sects – Theravada, Mahayana, etc.
Basic Doctrines, Principles and Philosophy.
Contribution to Arts and Architecture.
Expansion of Buddhism Outside India.
Social Aspects and Revival of Buddhism. 
Unit VI: Christianity
The Life and Message of Jesus Christ and the Beginnings of Christianity.
Old Testament and New Testament Scriptures and the Question of Interpretation.
Main Christian Churches (Catholic, Orthodox and Protestant).
Important Beliefs and Teachings of Christianity.
Christian Worship, Rituals and Mysticism.
History of Christianity in India.
Contemporary Trends in Christian Theology.
Unit VII: Islam
Life of Prophet Mohammed and Basic Teachings of the Quran.
The Establishment of the Islamic Community and the Medinian state.
Development of the Islamic Civilization under Abbasids.
International Trade and Foreign Relations in Medieval Period.
The Contribution of Medieval Islam to Rational Sciences, Philosophy and Fine Arts.
Development of Sufism and its Impact on the Muslim Society.
Challenges of Modernity and The Reform Movements among Muslims in India.
Unit VIII: Sikhism
Life and Teachings of Guru Nanak.
Development of Sikh Tradition under the Ten Gurus.
Sikh Scriptures ( Adi Granth and Dasam Granth ).
Basic Doctrines, Beliefs and Code of Conduct.
Major Impact of Sikhism on the Society.
Sikh Sects and Gurdwara Reform Movement.
Sikhism in Diaspora.

No comments:

Post a Comment