NTA UGC NET Syllabus of English, Code No: 30

NTA UGC NET Syllabus in English: English Studies is an academic discipline that includes the study of literatures written in the English language (including literatures from the UK, the US, Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, the Philippines, India, Pakistan, South Africa, and the Middle East, among other areas), English linguistics (including English phonetics, phonology, syntax, morphology, semantics, pragmatics, corpus linguistics, and stylistics), and English sociolinguistics (including discourse analysis of written and spoken texts in the English language, the history of the English language, English language learning and teaching, and the study of World Englishes). More broadly, English studies explores the production and analysis of texts created in English (or in areas of the world in which English is a common mode of communication). It is not uncommon for academic departments of "English" or "English Studies" to include scholars of the English language, literature (including literary criticism and literary theory), linguistics, law, journalism, composition studies, the philosophy of language, literacy, publishing/history of the book, communication studies, technical communication, folklore, cultural studies, creative writing, critical theory, disability studies, area studies (especially American studies), theater, gender studies/ethnic studies, digital media/electronic publishing, film studies/media studies, rhetoric and philology/etymology, and various courses in the liberal arts and humanities, among others.

Paper II
Chaucer to Shakespeare
Jacobean to Restoration Periods
Augustan Age : 18th Century Literature
Romantic Period
Victorian Period
Modern Period
Contemporary Period
American and other non – British Literature’s
Literary Theory and Criticism
Rhetoric and Prosody

Paper III (Part A)

(Core Group)
British Literature from Chaucer to the present day
Criticism and Literary Theory.
Unit – I:Literary Comprehension (with internal choice of poetry stanza and prose passage; four comprehension questions will be asked carrying 4 marks each ).
Unit – II:Up to the Renaissance.
Unit – III:Jacobean to Restoration Periods.
Unit – IV:Augustan Age 18th Century Literature.
Unit – V: Romantic Period.
Unit – VI:Victorian and Pre – Raphaelites.
Unit – VII:Modem British Literature.
Unit – VIII:Contemporary British Literature.
Unit – IX:Literary Theory and Criticism up to T. S. Eliot.
Unit – X:Contemporary Theory.


Paper III (Part B)

(Elective / Optional)
Elective – I:History of English Language, English Language Teaching.
Elective – II: European Literature from Classical Age to the 20th Century.
Elective – III: Indian writing in English and Indian Literature in English translation.
Elective – IV: American and other non – British English Literatures.
Elective – V:Literary Theory and Criticism.

No comments:

Post a Comment